Big Bug Shootout #7  Results

May 22, 2011

CLICK HERE for  Show Photos

Click here for Race Results

    We certainly had some GREAT but HOT weather this past Sunday for the 7th installment of The Big Bug Shootout at Piedmont Dragway.

      The VW area on the show grounds were filling up with some of the Piedmont Areas VW Enthusiasts. Although we had more in the non show area then the 40 that were in the judged area. Samuel Cox came out on top again with his 56 Beetle in Winning first in class plus Best of Show & Best Paint. Hugo Yanez brought out his beautiful 59 Ford Blue Beetle and snagged the Promoter’s Choice award as well as Best Engine and Interior. Take a look at the show awards for a full rundown of all the class winners.

      We had an average amount of racers in attendance, even with the Turbosmart Pro Outlaw Class at this event. The racers started out the morning with a tech session with Danny Waters of IHRA. Many racers brought their cars over to him to have it checked out to understand the many rules that the IHRA has put in place. A few of them actually had their chassis certified as well. This was a very informative session for us as well as the racers. Many of the regulars were in attendance trying to move their selves up the SEVWA points board, but quite a few were disappointed during the first round or couldn’t even make it the first round of eliminations.  In the end it was a Virginia Final in Super Pro with Ridgeway taking the win over Abrams. Pro Class had Manuel Hudson over Tony Miller and in Sportsman Michael Nutter took the win over Arnold Williams in Bug Bite.

     At this event we did have a special guest from California, Dyno Don Chamberlin. Many of you had the pleasure of meeting this great guy as he cruised around the pits or show area. He certainly brings a great vibe to the whole VW Event! This is his livelihood and just like Keith and I, loves the VW Community and would do anything to help keep it alive for years to come. We would like to THANK YOU ALL for helping make his visit a pleasant one as he had many very nice comments about our Southern Hospitality. Maybe we can bring him out more often to other events as well.

      Thank you all for coming out to the event. If you have any comments about it, please let us know. We can’t improve if we don’t hear feedback. We know the economy is hurting all of us and certainly appreciate you coming out and supporting the event.

      Special Thanks go to Kelly Brown, Heather Darling, Porky Briggs, Danny Waters & Dyno Don for all their help during the event. And of course our SEVWA 2011 Tour sponsors!


Best of Show: Samuel Cox 56 Beetle

Best Paint: Samuel Cox 56 Beetle

Best Engine: Hugo Yanez 59 Beetle

Best Interior: Hugo Yanez 59 Beetle

Promoters Choice: Hugo Yanez 59 Beetle

Rare Air Emerald Coast VW Club Choice: Michael Kinney 71 Westy


1) Beetle Sedan/Convertible stock (pre-67)

1st: Hugo Yanez  59 Beetle

2) Beetle Sedan/convertible Modified (pre-67)

1st: Samuel Cox  56 Beetle

2nd: Charles Bunch 63 Beetle

3) Beetle Sedan/Convertible stock (68&up)

1st: Gary Stewart 69 Beetle

2nd: Nicholas Hoffman 79 Super Beetle Vert

4) Beetle Sedan/convertible Modified (68&up)

1st: Angela Nelson 70 Beetle

2nd: Jeff Nelson 68 Beetle & John Holland 68 Beetle

5) Karmann Ghia (All) N/A

6) Type II (All)

1st: Michael Kinney 71 Westy

2nd: Jody Lindler  65 Crewcab

7) Type II Modified  N/A

8) Type III (All)

1st: Bobby McDowell  71 Squareback

2nd: Scott Hollingsworth  73 Fastback

9) Thing

1st: Al Matthews  74 Thing

 10) Buggy 

1st: Heather Darling

2nd: Adam Board

11) Baja 

1st:  Terry Lindsey  72

2nd: Danny McDaniel

12) Rail

1st: Mike Laws 

2nd: Ricky Harrison

13) Trike N/A

14) Rat Rod

1st: Zach Long  75 Beetle

15) Full Custom (air/water) N/A

16) Daily Driver (Aircooled All years) 

1st: Kenny Wingler 61 Beetle

2nd: Marcus Gardner 74 Super Beetle

17) Special Interest  N/A

18) Under Construction 

1st: William Hooker  69 Beetle Vert

2nd: Darrell Combs 62 Rail

19) Watercooled stock (all years) N/A

20) Watercooled Modified (All Years) N/A